Willow Wonderings

Swirling Leaves of Autumn

2 Comments

Where has time swept us?

Truly, let me tell you: it seems that the past week has enfolded me in a curious form of whirlwhind. “Overwhelming” seems too drastic, but an accurate synonym for this feeling of confusion. I feel constantly stimulated.
Where is the serenity of stillness in this swirling world?

This question popped into my head as I walked to Quaker meeting on Sunday. I was with my dear friend, Emily – I thank goodness for her. I told her that I had spent so much time working and doing, that I lost myself in a train of thought. I had been thinking… thinking.. thinking until suddenly –

it smelled like Fall.

I did not understand at first why the smell hit me so strongly. It comes every year, after all; but I realized the smell of Fall on the East Coast is different than any other. I had missed this season at Pearson in my bones (along with Julie, my friend from Ontario). We lamented the oranges and yellows and reds streaking across our home forests.

Fall brings me back to my sense of purpose. Returning to learn. Turning the soil into a fertile ground, slowing down, leaves returning home. Each one, gently floating down, brings comfort to my heart. 

Fall is also the season of sweaters, scarves, comfort foods and chilled nights. I love the fresh, crisp air that opens my lungs to possibility.

All of these memories, nostalgic and sweet, reminded me that life is a cycle. No thought is final; each falls to the ground in time. I am here, now, in the season of fall: a time of reflection, atonement, homecoming. I have blossomed, and now I settle. I let go and give myself to gravity. I trust it will bring me to where I belong.

It is here, floating, that I return to stillness. 

Image

Photo source: here

2 thoughts on “Swirling Leaves of Autumn

  1. Beautiful. Happy belated Autumn Equinox my dear!! A change in seasons often means a shift and a change within us. xo

  2. “Fall brings me back to my sense of purpose. Returning to learn. Turning the soil into a fertile ground, slowing down, leaves returning home. Each one, gently floating down, brings comfort to my heart.” These lines brought me so much joy. Thank you for this!

Leave a Reply

